Powered by Blogger.


Pope Benedict XVI has appointed Bishop George Stack as the Seventh Archbishop of Cardiff.

The date of installation as Archbishop of Cardiff will be Monday 20th June 2011 at 12 noon, Saint David's Cathedral, Cardiff. A vigil will be celebrated on Sunday 19th June 2011 at 7.00pm in Saint David's Cathedral, Cardiff. The Right Reverend George Stack, currently Auxiliary Bishop in Westminster, will succeed Archbishop Peter Smith, who was installed as Archbishop of Southwark last year.

“I am humbled and honoured at the trust Pope Benedict XVI has placed in appointing me Archbishop of Cardiff,” said Bishop Stack.

“Although I am sad to be leaving the Archdiocese of Westminster, in which I have served as priest for 29 years and auxiliary bishop for 10 years, I look forward to serving the people and clergy of the Church in Cardiff with love and faithfulness in the years that lie ahead.

“I am aware of the long and noble history of Christianity in Wales and the special gifts the Celtic people bring to the Universal Church. I hope to share in this rich tradition of faith.”

The Most Reverend Vincent Nichols, archbishop of Westminster, thanked Bishop Stack for his long and dedicated service to the Diocese.

“As President of the Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales, I welcome the appointment of the new Archbishop of Cardiff. We are grateful to the Holy Father for making this appointment so soon after the arrival of our new Papal Nuncio. The See of Cardiff is an important one for the life of Wales and for the Bishops’ Conference. It is good to know that it will be filled with a bishop of such experience and dedication as Bishop George Stack. We welcome this appointment and assure Bishop Stack of our continuing prayers and affection.”


The Archdiocese, formerly the Diocese of Newport, was established in 1916 when the Cardiff Province was established comprising the Archdiocese of Cardiff and the Diocese of Menevia. The province was restructured in 1987 with the erection of the Diocese of Wrexham and alterations to the boundaries of the Archdiocese and the Diocese of Menevia. The Archdiocese of Cardiff covers the Unitary Authorities of Blaenau Gwent, Bridgend, Caerphilly, Cardiff, Merthyr Tydfil, Monmouthshire, Newport, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Torfaen, Vale of Glamorgan and the County of Hereford


Diocese of Newport and Menevia

1850-1880 Bishop Thomas Joseph Brown OSB
1880-1895 Bishop John Cuthbert Hedley OSB

Diocese of Newport

1895-1916 Bishop John Cuthbert Hedley OSB

Archdiocese of Cardiff

1916-1920 Archbishop James R Bilsborrow OSB
1920-1939 Archbishop Francis Mostyn
1940-1961 Archbishop Michael McGrath
1961-1983 Archbishop John A Murphy
1983-2001 Archbishop John Aloysius Ward OFM Cap
2001-2010 Archbishop Peter D Smith


The Divine Office (Today)